Private ground. Your dates. Your pass.Explore the marketplace

Independent comparison · Reviewed August 13, 2026

Best hunting lease websites and private-land apps, compared.

Choose by the access you need: a day, a short trip, a season, an exclusive annual lease, or help from a broker.

No platform paid for placement. Back40 Pass is not affiliated with the services below.

Compare

8optionsShort access · Seasonal · Annual · Brokered

The fast answer

There is no single best site for every hunt.

LandTrust, Infinite Outdoors, and Outdoor Access lean toward date-based access. HLRBO spans daily through annual terms. Base Camp Leasing and Hunting Lease Network center on longer exclusive leases. National Land Realty is a broker alternative, while HuntLease.co is an emerging direct-listing option.

About this guide and Back40 Pass

Back40 Pass publishes this comparison and is building a different, request-first service. Hunters submit privately and may approve a reviewed public brief limited to state, broad area, game, party-size band, and timing. Contact details stay off the public board. Back40 Pass does not claim bookable land inventory, and a request is not a match, booking, lease, or permission to hunt. The companies below did not review this guide.

Quick comparison

Website or appBest fitPublished reachPublic fee model
LandTrustDay or multi-day access and packaged experiences40+ statesFree account; optional Plus; transaction fees shown before booking
HLRBODirect conversations and daily through annual leasesAll 50 state pages; availability varies$149–$269 yearly hunter plans plus a 14% hunter booking charge
Outdoor AccessDaily, weekly, seasonal, and annual recreation accessHundreds of properties; no active-state total publishedOptional Premium; annual membership listed at $149
Infinite OutdoorsManaged short DIY access and selected multi-day trips22 states with active listings$49.99 yearly Access+ plus property-specific charges
Base Camp LeasingExclusive 365-day hunting-rights leases34 states; 6.5 million acres opened historically$29–$249 premium plan plus $195 yearly hunt-club fee
Hunting Lease NetworkAuction-style exclusive annual leasesNationwide state selector; no active inventory totalRegistration, browsing, and bidding free; accepted bid is the price
National Land RealtyLocal, broker-assisted lease search or placementNationwide network of 400+ land professionalsPublic lease-service fees not disclosed
HuntLease.coEmerging direct yearly, seasonal, or daily listingsSmall visible multi-state inventory; no verified national totalNo landowner commission; hunter subscription price undisclosed

Published reach is not the same as available land near you. A state page or historical acreage claim can exist without a current property that fits your species, dates, party, or budget.

Choose by access model first

If you needStart withVerify
One day or a short DIY tripLandTrust, Infinite Outdoors, or Outdoor AccessExact dates, exclusivity, total checkout price, and property rules
Flexible direct negotiationHLRBOSubscription, owner authority, agreement, payment, and insurance
An exclusive annual leaseBase Camp Leasing or Hunting Lease NetworkAll membership charges, renewal, group roster, and covered rights
A guided or lodging packageLandTrust packages, then specialist outfittersWhat is included; access-only listings are not guided hunts
Local professional helpNational Land RealtyBroker compensation, representation, lease work, and insurance
No suitable live listingSubmit a private Back40 Pass requestA request creates demand, not inventory or permission

Verify a hunting lease before you pay

Use this checklist while talking with the owner or provider. Checking a box records your own review; it does not certify the property or authorize access. Your selections stay in this tab.

0 of 8 topics reviewed

Compare daily and full-season trip costs →

1. LandTrust: day or multi-day access and packaged experiences

Landowners set activities, prices, dates, rules, and approve each request. Listings can be single- or multi-day access, and some packages include lodging, a guide, or other services. Official pages show different acreage snapshots, so verify live results.

Published fees: LandTrust+ is $29 monthly or $299 annually. Exact landowner and guest transaction-fee percentages were not stated on the public pages reviewed; applicable fees are disclosed before publishing or booking.

Payments, insurance, and trust: LandTrust describes ID verification, card prepayment, waivers, two-way reviews, up to $10,000 per incident for property damage, and a $1 million blanket liability backstop. It advises landowners to maintain suitable insurance.

Official sources: Landowner program, Plus pricing, Safety and insurance.

2. HLRBO: direct conversations and daily through annual leases

HLRBO supports daily, weekly, monthly, seasonal, and yearly terms. Browsing is free, while a subscription unlocks direct messaging and full tools. Landowners set price and terms.

Published fees: Current plans are Silver at $149 per year, Gold at $219, and Platinum at $269. Platinum advertises 5% off a first long-term lease. The listing flow shows a 14% hunter-paid Booking Facilitation Charge. Landowner listing is advertised as free, with no commission.

Payments, insurance, and trust: HLRBO says LandKey checkout combines a state-specific agreement, payment, and liability insurance. Its insurance page gives about $300 as guidance, with actual quotes varying, and describes $1 million per occurrence and $2 million aggregate coverage. Identity and background-check tools are also described.

Official sources: Hunter process and plans, Booking charge disclosure, Landowner program, Insurance details.

3. Outdoor Access: daily, weekly, seasonal, and annual recreation access

Outdoor Access offers hunting and other recreation by the day, week, season, or year. Its homepage describes a reservation background check and account access to lease documents.

Published fees: Premium is optional and offered monthly or annually. Its official store lists an annual membership code at $149. The monthly amount, landowner listing charge, and commission were not public on the pages reviewed.

Payments, insurance, and trust: Payments run through Stripe. The current terms say Outdoor Access is not an insurer, so confirm the specific agreement, responsible parties, and any separate insurance before relying on coverage.

Official sources: Platform overview, Annual membership, Terms of service.

4. Infinite Outdoors: managed short diy access and selected multi-day trips

Infinite Outdoors reports active listings in 22 states and more than 2 million platform acres. A plan table separately lists 735 Access+ properties and 1.784 million-plus acres. Properties use app maps, access instructions, reservation limits, and waivers.

Published fees: The free Access tier covers designated free-access properties. Access+ costs $49.99 per year and enables private reservations; charges vary by property. Landowners list for $0 and receive the majority of reservation and per-person charges, but the exact share is undisclosed.

Payments, insurance, and trust: The company describes staff-biologist review, proof of permission in the app, member vetting, and millions in liability insurance. A precise public insurance limit was not found on the pages reviewed.

Official sources: Membership comparison, Landowner program, Reach claims.

5. Base Camp Leasing: exclusive 365-day hunting-rights leases

Base Camp is not primarily a day-pass site. It advertises exclusive annual hunting rights, inspection before final payment, and first right of renewal. Its historical acreage claim is not current inventory.

Published fees: Premium plans billed annually are Fork Horn at $29, 8 Point at $69, and Wall Hanger at $249. Current guidance says a premium plan is required to lease. A separate Base Camp Hunt Club fee is $195 per property each year. A current landowner guide states the owner receives 75% of the lease price and Base Camp retains 25%.

Payments, insurance, and trust: Hunters pay the annual lease up front. Base Camp prepares the agreement, and the required hunt-club membership includes a $5 million liability policy.

Official sources: Hunter program, Fees and insurance FAQ, Landowner commission.

6. Hunting Lease Network: auction-style exclusive annual leases

Hunting Lease Network uses competitive bidding for managed, generally annual exclusive leases. Hunters can arrange an inspection before bidding, and successful lessees may receive the first renewal option with approval.

Published fees: Registration, listing details, and bids are free. Its FAQ says the accepted bid is the only hunter price, with no hidden fee. Landowner management compensation is not publicly stated.

Payments, insurance, and trust: The network handles agreements, payment, insurance, and renewals. Current listings state that $2 million hunting liability coverage is included in the lease price.

Official sources: Program overview, Hunter FAQ, User agreement.

7. National Land Realty: local, broker-assisted lease search or placement

National Land Realty is broader than a hunting-only marketplace. Its professionals help find properties or tenants, vet prospects, and prepare agreements. Its 50-state search includes hunting, fishing, and recreational leases.

Published fees: The public lease page does not state the landowner commission or tenant fee. Request every compensation term in writing before engaging a broker.

Payments, insurance, and trust: The company describes professional vetting and lease preparation, but the public page does not state a bundled payment protection or insurance limit.

Official sources: National lease services.

8. HuntLease.co: emerging direct yearly, seasonal, or daily listings

HuntLease.co offers yearly, seasonal, and daily pricing, owner-controlled requests, direct messaging, and search tools. Current public inventory shows a small group of properties in several eastern states, so it should not be described as having nationwide inventory.

Published fees: Landowners are told they can list without fees or commission and keep their stated price. Hunters need a paid subscription for contact details and premium features, but a public subscription amount was not found.

Payments, insurance, and trust: Product pages describe Stripe Connect, while a current listing says payment is arranged directly with the owner; verify the flow for the property. No bundled insurance limit was public on the pages reviewed.

Official sources: Landowner program, Public listings, Terms of service.

How to choose before you pay

  • Name the term: one day, a date range, one species season, or a full year.
  • Confirm live availability: a directory page does not prove suitable land is open.
  • Total every charge: membership, service fee, insurance, deposit, tax, and lease price.
  • Verify authority: confirm who controls the hunting rights and can sign the agreement.
  • Read the documents: compare people, boundaries, dates, exclusivity, cancellation, damage, and disputes.
  • Check coverage: identify insured parties, limits, dates, exclusions, deductible, and certificate.
  • Use official rules: private access never replaces licenses, tags, seasons, or legal methods.
Never treat a listing as permission.

Access starts only after the authorized landowner approves the people, activity, property, dates, and required agreement or permission record. Stop at every boundary you cannot lawfully cross.

Where Back40 Pass fits

Most services above begin with available listings or brokered leases. Back40 Pass begins with the hunter's need. An optional, reviewed public brief can help a landowner recognize a possible fit without publishing the hunter's name, contact details, ZIP, exact requested location, budget, or private notes.

That does not create supply. Back40 Pass reviews requests before posting and reviews landowner responses before connecting anyone. Every party must still verify authority, boundaries, terms, payment, insurance, licenses, rules, and written permission.

Method, update policy, and limitations

We reviewed public pages controlled by each company on August 13, 2026. We compared access model, published reach, public charges, booking or payment tools, and stated trust features. We did not create paid accounts, make bookings, test claims, inspect private policy documents, or rank inventory quality.

Prices, inventory, coverage, payment, insurance, and cancellation terms change. “Undisclosed” means an exact amount or term was not found on the public official pages reviewed; it does not mean no charge or protection exists. Verify current terms directly before paying.

Brand names identify their respective owners. Back40 Pass is not sponsored by or affiliated with the compared services. Educational information only; not legal, insurance, regulatory, financial, or safety advice.

HUNTERSPut your hunt on the request map →LANDOWNERSShare a possible property fit →